Beyond the Pale


Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland: We’re All Mad Here…

Tim Burton was the obvious choice for the latest Alice in Wonderland adaptation. Quirky, dark, unsettling whimsy? Burton’s your go-to guy!

Teaser Trailer One

Teaser Trailer Two

Ooh, it does look rather good, doesn’t it?

The Burtonesque version of the story begins with a hoity toity party in Victorian England, at which the now 17 year old Alice (the “virtual unknown” Mia Wasikowska) is about to be proposed to in front of the hideously toffee-nosed guests.

She falls down the rabbit hole (again) and is plunged headfirst into the crazy, mixed-up world of Wonderland.

A world populated by Stephen Fry as the Cheshire Cat (oh, rapture!), Helena Bonham Carter as the Queen of Hearts,

Matt Lucas as Tweedledum and Tweedledee (utterly terrifying, but great casting!)

Of course a Burton film must have a Johnny Depp in it, and this time he’s the Mad Hatter. One wonders if he’ll basically be reprising his role as Willy Wonka in Burton’s Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

I do hope not. In fact, I pray that very little will ever resemble anything from that particular film, as I thought it was a complete disaster. But I digress…

Anne Hathaway’s costume looks lovely. And great lipstick, by the way. I want that lipstick!

So, Alice is back in Wonderland, but this time she’s all grown up. Of course, she’s going to need a few trinkets and fripperies to see her through…

When the film’s released, expect to see a plethora of Wonderland madness all over the place.

One of my favourite vintage-style designers, Sue Wong, has developed a niche collection inspired by Burton’s Wonderland, and utterly beautiful dresses they are, too. I would expect nothing less, her pieces always look as though they could be displayed in the V&A. Incredibly lust-worthy.

Ultra-chic Parisian department store Printemps have asked a number of their favourite designers to furnish the windows with bespoke, Alice-inspired pieces.

As Vogue reported, “Some of the fashion world’s best known names – including Christopher Kane, Alexander McQueen, Manish Arora, Maison Martin Margiela, Ann Demeulemeester, Bernhard Willhelm andΒ Haider Ackermann – have been asked to create a one-off dress for Alice, which will then be displayed in the window of the Parisian department store during Paris Fashion Week.”

Urban Decay have been busy, too, developing an authorised”Book of Shadows” to tie-in with the film, in utterly delectable packaging.

I fear they may already have sold out, though! It’s a “…very limited release” (“limited” being a very movable feast whenever beauty manufacturers are involved, so I’ve found. Limited to what? 50? 500? 5,000?).

To be perfectly honest, I wouldn’t get that hot under the collar about the shadows anyway. I’m more of a lips gal, truth be told. I’m a sucker for a well-packaged product, though!

Probably more of interest to me is the news that O.P.I have also put together a collection of Wonderland-inspired colours.

Though I have to agree with the review at All Laquered Up – I think two reds were overkill in this collection, and Off With Her Red is terribly boring. With such a pool of inspiration to draw from, surely they could have gone with something a little more spectacular than plain ol’ tomato red? I love the suggestion (in the article linked above) of a white glitter with tiny heart-shaped confetti pieces in it!

And now to furnish my little corner of Wonderland…

How about this Tea Time vinyl wall decoration, for your very own Mad-Hatter’s tea party? I think it turns what could otherwise have been a drab wallpaper into a witty take on traditional design. Love it!

Tea Time Decal by Say It With Style: $35

To go to tea, Alice must have a wonderful dress, of course. This beautiful vintage number seems very much in keeping with the film’s style.

Tulle 50's Strapless Dress by Land of 1000 Dresses: $250

For something a little more everyday (but still fabulous), I’ve plumped for Abi Bansal’s midnight blue ‘Coachella’ dress. I can see a modern-day in this, can’t you?

Coachella Dress by Abi Bansal Designs: $160

A inspired by Suzie Chaney’s limited edition ‘The Queen’s Croquet’ print:

The Queen's Croquet Limited Edition Print by Suzie Chaney: $23

…I would team the Coachella dress with these great candy striped stockings by Poppy’s Wicked Garden:

Cutie Pie Candy Striped Stockings by Poppy's Wicked Garden: $25

…and these absolutely perfect vintage Mary Jane style shoes from Dear Golden Vintage:

Vintage Mary Janes by Dear Golden Vintage: $37

For the Red Queen, I think this corset would be just the thing. The detailing is wonderful, as are all the pieces at Boom Boom Baby Boutique.

Queen of Hearts Corset by Boom Boom Baby Boutique: $225

These “Drink Me” sticks would be perfect to decorate the cocktails at a Mad Hatter’s Teaparty themed wedding reception! Or any party at all. They’re from the talented Pink Cherry Momma, who also does a splendid set of “Eat Me’s” too (shown in my Etsy treasury style collection further down the page). I adore them!

12 Drink Me Party Picks by Pink Cherry Momma: $10.95

Well, I could go on and on with this theme, but suppose I should stop somewhere. πŸ˜‰

Do have fun browsing through this gallery of temptations I put together for a future Etsy Treasury selection. Have a sneak peek at my choices…


Direct links to items shown, left to right:

1st Row: 1) Abi Bansal Design, 2) Cosmic Firefly, 3) Ju Ju Too

2nd Row: 1) Pink Cherry Momma, 2) Untamed Menagerie, 3) Five Sisterz

3rd Row: 1) Boom Boom Baby Boutique, 2) Suzie Chaney, 3) Amber Alexander

4th Row: 1) Nickel Design, 2) Les Delicieux, 3) Land of 1000 Dresses

Yours curiously….

Miss Nightingale

x


10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

thank you so much for the mention! what a great alice post πŸ™‚
~r

Comment by pinkcherrymama

great post, and thanks so much for including my work!

Comment by suzie

Can’t wait to see the movie! gorgeous images.
thanks for the mention πŸ™‚

Comment by amber

ooh I can’t wait for this- and I really would like the make up even though I don’t need it at all! great selection

Comment by Rose

looks like great movie

Comment by Tyrone

Social comments and analytics for this post…

This post was mentioned on Twitter by beyondpale: Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland: We’re All Mad Here http://wp.me/pB13M-cP

Trackback by uberVU - social comments

Can’t wait to see the film either. I love the temptations alongside. Everyone should have at least one walking teapot πŸ™‚

Comment by Amanda

Hello My Dearest! What a FAN-tastic post you have here, as always! Yours is one of my favorite blogs to read and explore! I have been starting to write a bit again in my own blog, and have created a couple new ones as well…one for Etsy that I haven’t done anything with yet, lol. And one called Sex in Sin City that’ll be a fun bunch of dirty details about men and relationships in this crazy town of Vegas. Hope to hear from you soon! Have a marvelous day! πŸ™‚

Comment by Julie

Hi Julie!

Oh bless you, dear heart, for your kind words. πŸ™‚

Love your writing, too, so shall be very excited to see more of it in differing forms. πŸ˜€

Comment by beyondthepaleblog

I don’t normally comment on blogs.. But nice post! I just bookmarked your site.

Comment by Crader@ymail.com




Leave a comment