Beyond the Pale


Modern Fairytales: The Whimsical Art of Chiara Santillozzi
September 26, 2012, 6:02 pm
Filed under: Art, Etsy, Fairytales | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Ever the head-in-the-clouds romantic, I always fall for modern portrayals of Fairytale or mythological themes, so am quite naturally head-over-heels in love having discovered the work of Dublin based Italian artist, Chiara Santillozzi.

20120926-181725.jpg

There is something to particularly admire in artists who convey characters while still retaining a modern simplicity, I think. That clean sweep of a brush or bold line can say so much in the right hands.

20120926-182321.jpg

I especially like her use of mainly black and white with a great swathe of perhaps one vivid colour bringing the picture to life.

20120926-182457.jpg

She really manages to capture personality, don’t you think? I really love this portrait of Frida Kahlo, proving that she’s equally able to portray people in the real world, as well as fantasy figures. Her work manages to be both gently humorous while poignant and completely conveys the mood of each scene or person within it.

20120926-183112.jpg

They all look like they could be the illustrations from a lost book of Fairytales, I love them all and would certainly like to have some gracing my home. They truly are stunning, and at under £11 for an A4 print, I think they’re absolute bargains, too!

20120926-183707.jpg

I definitely think this artist should be snapped up for all sorts of book covers and immediately commissioned to illustrate new additions of Angela Carter’s entire back catalogue, don’t you agree?

20120926-183824.jpg

Chiara, though born in Italy and living in Dublin, has traversed afar, having also made her home in Venice and Japan. I really think she is very talented indeed, and am sure you’ll agree. You can see the work currently available in her online shop, Makissima.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh they are lovely! I’ve just bought one of her A4 Madame de Pompadour prints and am planning to get a few more too. I love collecting original art – I have so many collections on the go now that I’m about to run out of wall space! 🙂

Thanks for posting about them!

Comment by Madame Guillotine

Eek have only just seen this comment!

YAY so glad you like them, too. Aren’t they just beautiful? I love her style so much. We’re currently not allowed to hang pictures in our rented flat (which I hate not bring able to do), so I keep buying pictures and not being able to show them. 😦

Am building up a huge wants list, though!

Comment by Miss Nightingale




Leave a Reply

