Beyond the Pale


Swinging on a Chandelier: Red or Dead’s FABULOUS Bag for Cancer Research

Now, dear readers, those who have been with me for any length of time will know I’m a sucker for 1) Bawdy Victoriana, 2) Chandeliers, 3) Bags. Put those three elements together and charge me a mere pittance (£3.99) for the resulting splendour, and I am pretty much in state of rapture.

Behold: Red or Dead’s “Swinging on a Chandelier” print bag, designed for the charity Cancer Research (click the picture to go to their online shop)…

Swinging on a Chandelier eco bag by Red or Dead for Cancer Relief: £3.99

I espied this in the window of my local Cancer Relief and snapped one up quick smart.

Busty Victorian wenches swinging on chandeliers? To say it’s my cup of tea is something of an understatement! Oh for a silk dress in this print. Or a cushion, or bed linen or… anything! Wonderful stuff. I demand more.

The print also happens to be in navy, and I have fallen for navy in a big way. I know I’m 100 years behind the rest of the world, and am perhaps lapsing into a mid-life decline (I have sensible shoes due to my work-ruined feet, my foundation matches my natural skin tone and my wardrobe has colours in it – QUELLE HORREUR!) but navy – teamed with red & white for freshness or grey for subdued glamour – is calling to me at last.

Just to overdose on chandeliers for a little while (and why not?) this navy scarf by Analogue People would be sublime teamed with the Red or Dead bag. Toss it nonchalantly around your shoulders or tie over the handles of the bag itself. Love it!

Jersey Chandelier Scarf by Analogue People: $25

The thing about teaming navy & white with a splash of scarlet red is that, sooner or later, you start imagining yourself to be sauntering about Paris in the sunshine. The wheels of that particular daydream will be oiled all the more by wearing this snappy little “Bonjour” t-shirt by Two String Jane. Dare you to wear it with bright red lipstick and a fake French accent.

Bonjour T-Shirt by Two String Jane: $24

Another t-shirt I love is the Mr Dary Proposal shirt by the divine Brookish. Simple yet stylish, this conveys your romanticism to the world without being in the least bit cutesy. Yet another item on my ever-expanding wants list.

Mr Dary Proposal shirt by Brookish: $25

For the smarter do, and perfect for those summer weddings or a day at the races, this perky little velvet ribbon rose hat is just darling, don’t you think? The talented UK designer – Janine Basil – has a whole collection of burlesque/vintage inspired hats, fascinators and accessories, all with a quirky flair and a jaunty wink. Adorable.

Vintage Style Velvet Rose Hat by Janine Basil: $95

These earrings have to the filed in the category “weirdly beautiful” – they are quite classically stunning in design, yet are made from the vertebrae of birds. Not a medium I would usually associate with jewelery, but all of Marya Zoya’s pieces are incredibly well put together and so imaginative – truly wearable art. Certainly a talking point at a dinner party!

Taxidermy Bird Earrings by Marya Zoya: $50

Take a look at the rest of the Navy wonders I have gathered together for you to gaze upon – all of the shops are well worth a browse, even if navy isn’t grabbing you by the shoulders and kissing you full on the lips.

Direct links to items shown, left to right:

1st Row: 1) Marya Zoya, 2) Janine Basil, 3) Madame Mortalitas

2nd Row: 1) Thief and Bandit, 2) Analogue People, 3) Brookish

3rd Row: 1) aaarealgem, 2) Two String Jane, 3) Silent Mint

4th Row: 1) Zoe Chen, 2) Raine Style Home, 3) Dear Lillie

Until next time, darlings…

Miss Nightingale

x

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thank you so much for including my brooch in your lovely blog 🙂 I love all the other items too, especially the taxidermy bird earrings! XX

Comment by Madame Mortalitas

Thank you for ft my earrings! I am a huge navy fan & the other items you picked are wonderful!! xoxo Marya Z

Comment by Marya Zoya On Etsy.com

Nice blog and nice features!
Thanks alot for including my handmade Navy cushion cover ‘Thinking Of Midnight Blossom’ 🙂

Comment by Raine

[…] out the original post here and print on Etsy here and get a piece of history […]

Pingback by Bonjour Tee On Beyond the Pale Blog | Alyssa Zukas

t shit is ‘mazin’

Comment by Rose

shirt! sorry!

Comment by Rose

I absolutely LOVE the swinging on a chanedlier bag! Adorable!

Comment by Sydney's Vintage Clothing

Hi there, You’ve done a great job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I’m sure they will be benefited from this web site.

Comment by kable ziemne




Leave a Reply

