Beyond the Pale


Last of the Bargain Hunters
February 12, 2010, 8:21 pm
Filed under: 2010, Accessories, Bargains, Etsy, Fashion, Sales, Shoes, Shopping

[I have been attempting to post this for simply ages – damn flaky internet connection. *shakes fist to the heavens*]

Now sales are a tricky issue for me. Working in retail myself, I loathe them with a burning passion and can’t wait to see the back of them. However, I am also a dedicated bargain hunter and will scavenge with the best of them.

Ruby Jersey Dress with Wrap Belt by Daniela Besso: was $120, NOW $79

Such is the dual, topsy-turvy, hypocritical twilight world I inhabit.

I think what I loathe about them is that MUST BUY STUFF frothing frenzy that overtakes certain types of people and turns them into mad-eyed, sharp-elbowed head cases. These types will buy anything – even in the wrong size – if they deem it to be a bargain.

You and I, dear reader, are far too discerning [of course!] to be lumped in with the proletariat. WE only buy classic pieces that we can mix & match into our wardrobes, or items we will still be using 10 years from now. Don’t we? {ahem}

Ava Bolero by Plümo, was £69, NOW £39

Now listen, of course you could claim this was an evening bolero for draping over darling little silk cocktail dresses. I claim, however, that it would work equally well draped over a simple t-shirt and worn with battered old jeans and your ever faithful Converse pumps. Thus, it’s a bargain.

Fly London Grace Platform Slide Sandal, was £84.99, NOW £39.99

…and these are a bargain as high-heeled clogs are set to be THE shoe of Spring/Summer 2010. For reference, see the current cover of UK Vogue. By the way, Alexa’s are by Chanel and cost, um, slightly more.

I shall be re-creating the Vogue cover in my next post, hurrah!

Anyway. Hardworking Classics Only. That’s what we are supposed to do, and I must say I have been extremely restrained.

So far.

How about you? Report & share your bargains!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] Last of the Bargain Hunters […]

Pingback by Vogue Cover March 2010: Alexa Chung’s Look Re-Created « Beyond the Pale




Leave a Reply

