Beyond the Pale


Sherlock Holmes The Movie: Sherlocky Style
January 10, 2010, 7:24 pm
Filed under: Books, Fripperies, Trinkets, Victorian, Victoriana | Tags: , , , , ,

I haven’t seen this yet (our nearest cinema is a nightmare to get to unless you drive, which we don’t) so may have to wait for the DVD again, but ooooh I am looking forward to it.

I wasn’t, to tell the truth, because I dislike Jude Law really quite intensely and it all seemed a bit tawdry, and not in a good way.

However, many of my friends have given this film excellent reviews and the trailer does make me want to watch it.

Ah, seedy Victorian underworlds, my favourite. 🙂

Inspired by all things Holmes-y, I put together a little selection of trinkets & fripperies available from the ever-delectable Etsy sellers.

Just how ridiculously adorable Sherlock Holmes gal (knitting pattern)? I may have actually squealed slightly…

Sherlock Holmes Doll Pattern, by Hand Made Awards: $4.50

I wish I could knit, I want one! She looks really sassy and slightly mischievous, doesn’t she?

In fact, I would like all of these things. Maybe not to wear all together. There’s a fine line between “rocking a look” and “fancy dress”.  🙂

I do hope you enjoy – and let me know what you thought of the film if you have seen it already!

Direct links to items shown, left to right:

1st Row: 1) Spoonful of Chocolate, 2) Hand Made Awards, 3) Art Find

2nd Row: 1) Big Bad, 2) Foowahu, 3) Dirty City Vintage

3rd Row: 1) Clayshion, 2) Eclectic Circle, 3) The Stapelias Company

4th Row: 1) Little Squidgeon, 2) Dragon Cat, 3) The Honey Press

I’m delighted that this selection is also a current Etsy Treasury. Yay! (Expires Wednesday 3:50am)

[EDIT: Aww, the Sherlock Holmes book bag has already sold! Still, do have a look around the rest of Spoonful of Chocolate – lots more book bags to choose from. I love them, so unusual].

Yours tweedily,

Miss Nightingale,

x

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That doll is just adorable. I have also come to find Jude Law quite repulsive. Not only for his indiscretions but those low-cut jumpers and t-shirts are something only a real A-hole would wear.

I’m sure I’ll have to wait for Sky Movies, I never manage to get out to the cinema!

Comment by swelledenise

Ha, yes his jumpers are certainly yet another clue to his A-hole-ness! I just find him really oily and sooooo pleased with himself it hurts. Also, I find his performances all look as though he’s practicing being himself in the bathroom mirror rather than being filmed. However, a friend commented that she “even forgot to hate Jude Law” whilst watching it, so we shall have to see… 🙂

Comment by beyondthepaleblog

Social comments and analytics for this post…

This post was mentioned on Twitter by avantgarland: Treasury! Thanks BeyondthePale. http://bit.ly/8eHNoT http://bit.ly/4QaO2x

Trackback by uberVU - social comments

I really enjoyed the film, having been rather sceptical (and not least because I too am another to find Jude Law less than appealing). Thanks so much for this little selection of wonders — I’ve just bought the set of hankies for a friend who loves Holmes and is one of the few people I know to use real hankies, rather than paper tissues, on a normal basis, so they’re the perfect gift!!

Comment by Sophie




Leave a Reply

