Beyond the Pale


I’d Rather Be Watching the Cricket (Somewhere Hot!)
January 7, 2010, 10:45 pm
Filed under: Cricket, Etsy, Fashion, Holidays, Summer, Vintage | Tags: , , , ,

Last year was something of an eye-opener for me: I learned to love cricket. Oh, I had flirted with it from a distance, but never actually been to a game before. So, when the be-ringleted fiance suggested we go to watch our local team (Kent) play at Canterbury, I was more than happy to go along… but took a book (just in case).

Illustration by Simon Letch

That book went untouched. I was gripped. GRIPPED, I tell you! But sedately so, obviously. It was one of the most exciting yet relaxing ways to spend a day, I loved the atmosphere, the traditions and that sense of laid-back sportsmanship.

Cricket Awning by Deckchair Stripes, £175

This year we shall certainly be watching Kent play again, but right now, right this very second, I wish we were somewhere hot watching the cricket. With a cold beer and a picnic.

Blyton Picnic Basket for 2, by Optima: £70

This Enid Blyton inspired basket is just darling. I also have a shade of lipstick that would match the red tin perfectly, which is the most important thing to consider when planning a picnic, I think you’ll agree.

Now, I have to tell you this is very rare for me, wanting to be somewhere hot, but I’m a contrary so-and-so, t’was ever thus. When it’s hot, I crave snow and log fires. When the snow comes, I spend time browsing Etsy for cricketing holiday items. Sometimes I even annoy myself. ;p

Direct links to items shown, left to right:

1st Row: 1) Shrunken Cat Heads, 2) Serena Jane, 3) Clayswan

2nd Row: 1) Crrysstall, 2) Monkeys ‘n’ Mermaids, 3) DNTX

3rd Row: 1) A Good Vintage, 2) Nostalgic Treasures, 3) To Funky Town

4th Row: 1) Mohop, 2) Miss Brache, 3) Ayelet77

We would definitely have need of the sunscreen, slathered head-to-foot, as we are both lily-white and thus turn scarlet in the blink of an eye. I like the idea of using a mineral-based sunscreen, too – and one that doesn’t smell of coconut. WHY do sunscreen makers assume we all want to smell of coconuts? Deeply odd.

Oh, how I love this hand painted silk scarf. Delectable – and practical, too, as you could tie it around your neck to keep the sun off, or over your head a’la Jackie O. It’s on my Wish List, of course.

Hand Painted Silk Scarf by Crrysstall: $81

Just look how stunning those Mohop sandals are. They come with a set of interchangeable ribbons, too! I am madly in love with them and shall be coveting a pair for summer.

Mohop Walnut Sandals

I would be stocking up on ribbons to wear with every holiday outfit imaginable – there are a number of different ways you can tie them, too (and the soles also come in wedges for a higher heel).

Well, I do hope this post has warmed your cockles. 🙂

Until next times, duckies,

Miss Nightingale

x

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Three things,
1. Thanks for listing the panama hat, I love that look- The block comes from France, the straw comes from Ecuador and it’s made by me here in Australia..
2. While you are having your cold snap we are having a heat wave, 32degrees Celsius today, going up to 42 on Sunday…. can we do a partial exchange?
3. There is cricket here, soporific radio.
Cheers, Serena

Comment by Serena Lindeman

Dear Serena,

The Panama is so classic for all ages (and both sexes) I think – your hats are amazing!

Good lord, yes I think a partial exchange is the best for both of us! I shall send some snow your way, pronto.

Ah, cricket on the radio is just the thing – so relaxing. 🙂

Comment by beyondthepaleblog




Leave a Reply

