Beyond the Pale


Thinking of Melanie: Paris, Gin & Palaces

Welcome to the third of my It’s the Thought That Counts series of items that remind me of particular friends. People who have inspired me to put together these selections of temptations for your browsing pleasure.

This one is for Melanie, she of the always fascinating Madame Guillotine blog, and the talented author of The Journal of Marie Antoinette.

I have previously put together a collection inspired by her, but simply couldn’t leave her out of this current round-up of Lovely Stuff I Would Give My Friends. Particularly as our tastes are quite similar in many ways – we both adore slightly seedy Victoriana, Marie Antoinette (naturellement), Gin, and have a fascination with Jack the Ripper.

Goodness, that makes us sound really charming! 🙂

Anyway, I present for your delectation, a themed selection of wonderful things: Thinking of Melanie…

Direct links to items shown, left to right:

1st Row: 1) Petit Coterie, 2) Middleburg, 3) T Capone Photo

2nd Row: 1) A Double Grace, 2) Hoolala, 3) Dangerous Liason

3rd Row: 1) Plumes and Pearls, 2) Jeanie Bean Shop, 3) Elizabeth Ocean

4th Row: 1) Gimm Cat, 2) Victorian Lowbrow, 3) 5 Dollar French Market

I’m having a lovely day full of delightful surprises, very well chosen gifts, wonderful food and even better company – slightly marred by now having to work tomorrow due to staff sickness, but ah well, onwards and upwards I suppose!

I also smell quite divine, as I am currently wearing one of the be-ringleted one’s gifts, a bottle of Diptyque’s L’Ombre dans L’Eau [Shadow on the Water].

Am surrounded by piles of Excellent Stuff and feeling very pleased, but so, so desperately wishing that I could have the long wished-for lie in followed by bacon-sandwich-in-bed, followed by a sedate walk through the woods, followed by cold turkey, home-baked gammon and general slouching around in a state of deshabille, like drunken bumble-bees.

Work (being the first day of Sale) somehow just doesn’t holds the same appeal!

Ah well, work is the curse of the drinking classes and all that.

Lots of love to you all, and I hope you had a truly magical Christmas day!

Until next time, darlings

Miss Nightingale

x

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Just what I need, more Etsy things to buy!

Comment by Heather

Oh, I want it all! My favourite perfume is Diptyque Philosykos! 🙂

Comment by Melanie

Oh, I’m so glad you like it. 🙂

Yes, I like Philosykos very much, but this is my absolute favourite. I loved it as a candle, first, and then wished there was a perfume of it – and Lo! There was. 🙂

Comment by beyondthepaleblog

Thankyou for featuring my Diamond Necklace Affair shirt on your blog!

Comment by Erin

Thank you so much for including my Queen of Baroque collar! You have wonderful taste ha ha as I see you also love one of my favourite perfumes! I have the candle alight at this very moment! Wishing you a very happy, healthy New Year, all the very best, Bea x

Comment by Bea Lowe

This is too lovely for words! Merci beaucoup for including my painting.

Comment by Elizabeth




Leave a Reply

