Beyond the Pale


I’d Like To Thank My Agent, My Mother, The Academy & Everyone I’ve Ever Met…
December 7, 2009, 1:20 am
Filed under: Awards, Recommendations

Karen at Bobbins and Bombshells has given me (well, this blog) an award! How delightful!

I am thrilled. 🙂

It is my solemn (and extremely pleasurable) duty to pass along the award to 5 other blogs I think are worthy. A shame I may only pick 5, but here are my award winners, which you should definitely be reading:

Madame Guillotine – Endlessly entertaining & brimming with all sorts of historical/art history characters, discussions of hairstyles sit cheek-by jowl with political contexts. I love discovering the salacious stories behind many [in]famous portraits!

Deanna Raybourn – The diary of one of my favourite authors: funny, insightful & thought-provoking by turns. I think anyone who enjoys my blog or is as fascinated with Victorian life as much as I am would absolutely ADORE her books, too. I am hopelessly hooked.

Bakerella – Amazing & totally inspirational baking blog that absolutely should not be read on a hungry stomach. You WILL crave everything she blogs about. Beautiful photographs to make the mouth water & easy-to-follow recipes. The Sesame Street Cake Pops are one of the cutest things I have ever seen.

Gillray’s Printshop of Historical Absurdities – Fascinating (and often very amusingly written) “amateur historian’s” journey through the 18th & 19th centuries. Potted histories and beguiling stories that leave the reader desperate to find out more.

A Rose Beyond the Thames – I love her finds, recommendations, little snippets about life in general – just always a pleasure to read!

Now, to each of the award winners: Pick up your award (save the picture above) and pass it along to 5 blogs of your choosing.

Then answer the following questions with one word & post on your blog:

Here are my answers:
1. Where is your phone? Charging.
2. Your hair? Brown.
3. Your Mother? Strong.
4. Your Father? Deceased.
5. Your favourite food? Cheese.
6. Your dream last night? Forgotten.
7. Your favourite drink? Gin!
8. Your dream/goal? Creating.
9. What room are you in? Bedroom.
10. Your hobby? Reading.
11. Your fear? Losing.
12. Where do you want to be in six years? Home.
13. Where were you last night? Pub.
14. Something that you’re not? Sure.
15. Muffins? Raspberry.
16. Wishlist item? McQueen.
17. Where did you grow up? Kent.
18. Last thing you did? Hugged.
19. What are you wearing? Camisole.
20. Your TV? Seldom.
21. Your pets? None.
22. Friends? Dispersed.
23. Your life? Quixotic.
24. Your mood? Thoughtful.
25. Missing someone? Lots.
26. Vehicle? None.
27. Something you’re not wearing? Hat.
28. Your favourite store? Etsy!
29. Your Favourite colour? Red.
30. When was the last time you laughed? Today.
31. The last time you cried? Friday.
32. Your best friend? Far.
33. One place that I go to over and over? Bed.
34. Facebook? Occasionally.
35. Favourite place to eat? Hamburg.
4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thank you! *gush* 🙂

Comment by Melanie

well deserved! congrats!

Comment by BobbinsAndBombshells

Hello there, thanks for visiting me. Love your blog and wee finds! xx

Comment by Top Bird @ Wee Birdy

Thanks for stopping by my little nest, too! I am always inspired by reading your blog. 🙂 xxx

Comment by beyondthepaleblog




Leave a Reply

