Beyond the Pale


Whimsical Brooches & Not Growing Up
November 28, 2009, 4:01 pm
Filed under: Accessories, Autumn, Brooches, Etsy, Fall, Fashion, Fripperies, Trinkets

Lately, I find myself hankering after items I used to scoff at and – on occasion – loathe with a passion. Could it be, Gentle Reader, that I am (at the age of 30 cough cough) growing up?

Dear LORD, I do hope not, otherwise I’ll freak out and have a terribly embarrassing encounter with experimental hair dye and inappropriate skirt lengths. Again.

It is more likely (and palatable to your author) that I am finally getting around to embracing things that other people have been already been wearing and loving for decades.

Hence: brooches. I do not own a brooch. My jewellery box[es] are bereft of anything even resembling a brooch, and I feel this must soon be rectified.

I am looking at over-familiar jackets and seeing a well-placed brooch would dress them up no end. I am seeing whimsical brooch-shaped gaps on far-too-respectable cardigans and bags. Even skirts could benefit…

Direct links to items shown, left-to-right:

First Row: 1) HeliS, 2) Seesong, 3) Seesong (Yes, two Seesong’s, but I couldn’t resist!)

Second Row: 1) Alexandra Anderson, 2) Le Collezione 3) Sustalux

Third Row: 1) Tijusai 2) Nikita Jade 3) Miss Gaylee

Fourth Row: 1) Floremark Shop 2) Made With Love By Hannah 3) Ananya

And by the way, just how adorable is the little mouse brooch in the first row? He looks like he’s done something terribly wrong and only just realised – or forgotten something vital from his shopping list. Two situations I am equally familiar with!

Mouse Brooch by HeliS, $16

What a relief to be back having been without a power cable for my PowerBook for an absolute age. Well, a few days, but it seemed like forever! *grumbles about Mac power cables for some time*

Until next time, dearhearts

Miss Nightingale

x

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks so much Nancy for featuring Le Collezione is this really awesome blog. Happy Holidays!

Comment by Christina Jimenez

Thanks for featuring my Mousie 🙂
Nice picks!

Comment by heli

I love occasional nod to Victorian era, especially when weather gets cold. Here’s links to some well dressed men…
http://www.nytimes.com/slideshow/2009/11/11/fashion/20091112-codes-slideshow_index.html
Thank you for featuring my items, Miss Nightingale. Don’t distress yourself over sudden attraction toward brooches…it happens to best of us.

Comment by Seesong

Thanks so much for that link – what fantastic photos (and I love all the items they chose!)

Comment by beyondthepaleblog

Thanks for featuring my Cardi Coat! I have bookmarked your blog- luv the items featured & your commentary 🙂

Comment by Alexandra

LOVE this blog! Thanks so much for the link! I made it a favorite ;o) I can’t help but investigate the Cela Wool Cardigan…

Comment by Dana




Leave a Reply

