Beyond the Pale


In Praise of the Font Nerds: Black, White & Red All Over
November 11, 2009, 8:11 pm
Filed under: Art, Authors, Etsy, Fonts, Fripperies, Newspapers, Press, Print, Trinkets, Writers

Q: What’s black, white and red all over?

A: A newspaper.

My dad told me this riddle when I was a little girl. It cracked me up. I appreciated the play on words and I am sure it went some way to starting the fire below my burning passion for typewriters, newspapers and, particularly, the beauty of fonts.

For a little while, I was the sub-editor for a local magazine in Brighton, here in the UK. It’s probably the happiest I have ever been at work.

I got to circle other people’s copy in red pen, I got to play with fonts and buy fonts and introduce other people to fonts… glorious! For a while, I couldn’t read any other magazines, though, as I saw with a creeping sickness the old familiar press releases used word-for-word in place of an actual interview, I saw glaring mistakes that should never have made it past the subs.

Horrid.

Took me years to get over.

I used to proudly reel off all the fonts used in any publication you cared to mention. I couldn’t do that now. I kind of miss being a font nerd!

In praise of font nerds and writers everywhere, then, a selection of goodies I heart:

Font nerdsFont nerds2

Direct links to items shown, left-to-right:

1st Row: 1) Barrel of Monkeys, 2) Pop Goes the Print, 3) Tilly Bloom

2nd Row: 1) Whisker Graphics, 2) Plastique, 3) Citrus Tree

3rd Row: 1) Golden Prim Hollow, 2) Cosmo Fashion Slave, 3) Design Sugar

4th Row: 1) Heather Jeany, 2) Creations by Kara, 3) Nan Lawson

Until next time, dear hearts,

Miss Nightingale,

x

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh wow. Thank you very much for including me in your beautiful photos. You picked some gorgeous photos. Have a blessed day.

Comment by Design Sugar

Love the round up!Soooo many good things! Thanks for including my stationery! I’m honored. 🙂
Whitney

Comment by Whitney @ Whisker Graphics

[…] included my Typewriter flat notes in a blog post. I do believe it will be worth your time to click HERE and check out all the typewriter themed goodies she featured. Make sure to read her “About […]

Pingback by Whisker Graphics - Type, Typewriters and Typewriter Keys

I must say I know just how you feel about typography and it’s associated elements.

Thank you so very much for including my print…an honor to be sure!

Comment by Citrus Tree Designs

Thanks so much for featuring my vinyl lettering. I’m glad you like them!

Comment by Kara

Thanks so much for including me in your lovely blog!:)
It’s appreciated!:)

Comment by Goldenprimhollow




Leave a Reply

