Beyond the Pale


Autumn Fashion: Relishing the Cosy
November 5, 2009, 9:58 pm
Filed under: Autumn, Etsy, Fall, Fashion, Fripperies, Trinkets

We are – in the UK, anyway – in the very heart of that golden period. That time between being really quite pleased to be donning coats and snuggling in scarves, and the moment we are all bored of it and begin moaning at how terribly cold it is “…and we never had a proper summer to speak of.”

Well, I say we should make the most of this golden period of Autumn. I find wrapping up in cosy knits and swathing myself in long scarves to be positively delightful, and I wont have a word said against it! So there.

In praise of all things to snuggle-up in, then, may I present my considered selection of cosiness. As usual, I’ve used Etsy’s Poster Sketch tool for laying out my choices…

CosyCosy 2

Direct links to items shown, left-to-right:

1st row: 1) Adventures of JR, 2) Handy Little Me, 3) Big Yellow Taxi Vintage

2nd row: 1) Emma Sommerfield, 2) Jewel of the Lion, 3) Le Muse

3rd row: 1) YY Studio, 2) Teton Cocoa Company, 3) Grazim

4th row: 1) Iveta67, 2) Beautiful Soaps, 3) Mrs Woo Woo

I see that Emma Sommerfield’s 40’s style hand-knitted cardigan has already sold, but she does re-do certain styles from time to time, I believe. Worth asking if you desire that particular style as much as I do! She’s on holiday at the moment, but as with all Etsy sellers, you can request to be sent an automatic email when the seller returns to their shop.

I must also mention Le Muse and show you some more of the beautiful designs available in their shop. I just adore this label – the sheer simplicity yet subtle sexiness of the clothes is incredibly appealing.

Oh, how I want one of everything, and to cavort about in the grass with a pitcher of milk, as pictured below.

Forest Muse for Cozy Days by Le Muse, $69

Forest Muse for Cozy Days by Le Muse, $69

Um. Perhaps with another layer on underneath the dress on frostier days? Showing my age! People under 30 seem to eschew layers or, y’know, a coat nowadays. Obviously made of hardier stuff than I, your fragile author…

BlackMuse for Cold Days by Le Muse, $79

BlackMuse for Cold Days by Le Muse, $79

I am very much in favour of the re-emergence of The Shoulder, here. I am fond of my shoulders and they got many outings in the 80’s, but have pretty much remained hidden since then. There is something cheekily sexy about a shoulder peeking out, non?

Of course this also means the re-emergence of the strapless bra, in my case. Lucky those of you who may do without, rejoice, for the strapless bra is a tale of woe worthy of several chapters.

LeMuse for the Cozy Days by Le Muse, $59

LeMuse for the Cozy Days by Le Muse, $59

Here are some that didn’t quite fit into my layout, but which I also love, and these seem to also exude that air of bliss that only comes with being slightly cold, wrapping up warm and drinking cocoa by the fire after a kick through the leaves.

Red Legwarmers/Spats by Wigglin Wasabi, $18

Red Legwarmers/Spats by Wigglin Wasabi, $18

Winter Warmth Gift Basket by JM Creative, $30

Winter Warmth Gift Basket by JM Creative, $30

Peach Melba Slippers by Screaming CheeToes, $14

Peach Melba Slippers by Screaming CheeToes, $14

Pecan Pie Candle by gelDlights, $14

Pecan Pie Candle by gelDlights, $14

Yours blissfully & toasting my tootsies (that’s ‘toes’ for anyone not familiar with the expression, who may have been imagining all sorts of licentious behaviour!)

Miss Nightingale

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That’s a lovely collection! Thank you ^^

Comment by Echo

Ohhh what great knitwear!

Comment by diamondsinchampagne




Leave a Reply

