Beyond the Pale


In Which We Provide Inspiration
September 6, 2009, 2:56 pm
Filed under: Etsy, Fripperies, Trinkets, Whores

I am incredibly pleased to say that our previous post – An Ode to the Fallen Woman – has provided one of the artisans featured with inspiration to create aClick the picture to go to the bracelet's page bracelet around the theme. I absolutely swooned at the description – in fact, most of the items listed at The Mermaids Song shop seem to have mysterious stories half-told to further intrigue & beguile:

She supposedly kept all these things as reminders of her former life. Aurora borealis beads reminded her of her grandmothers fine crystal goblets. A tattered black flower, likely from a long ago funeral. A heart frozen in time. A mysterious black pearl. Swallows flying away like a lost soul. All this, of course, happened before she became a fallen woman. We will never know all the details but this may provide some clues…

I always, always warm to those sellers who can be bothered to write beautiful descriptions of their items. Always have done. Ever the overblown romantic, me, I would sit at my incredibly stylish Great, Great Aunt’s knee and swoon over old Vogue photo shoots and the hyperbolic copy within.

There is a time and a place for tightly clipped sentences & editorial minimalism, no doubt; but I shall ever dance after the piper playing the prettiest (or most mysterious) tune, and I make no apologies for that, my dears.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh wow, that is beautiful! I want one!

Comment by Melanie

The Mermaid’s Song always has the most beautiful and unique jewelry I’ve ever seen… I’ve bought two bracelets for my wife so far… she loves them!

Comment by Robert Graham

I am lucky, this is MINE – waiting for it to arrive, hopefully before the next Mid-Atlantic snowstorm…..

Comment by Lisa

Oooh, well done you – it’s an exquisite piece and so unique!

Comment by beyondthepaleblog




Leave a Reply

